Label News: Erased Tapes Celebrates 10 Years With New Compilation


Erased Tapes Celebrates 10 Years With New Compilation:

Erased Tapes is celebrating their first 10 years with a new compilation that you can download for FREE from the label’s website. Begun in London in 2007 by German-born label owner Robert Raths, through the years Erased Tapes has focused their sonic efforts on genres like modern classical, ambient, and even electronic music. While Erased Tapes Collection VIII will feature plenty of music from the label’s established roster, including recent compositions from Ben Lukas Boysen, Douglas Dare, A Winged Victory For The Sullen, and Rival Consoles, this collection also features Erased Tapes new signees, Penguin Cafe, Daniel Brandt (Brandt Brauer Frick), and Peter Broderick‘s duo, Allred & Broderick. In addition, the compilation will feature previously unreleased work like Ryan Davis‘ remix of Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm (recently played by Aphex Twin at Day For Night Festival), as well as an exclusive edit of Woodkid & Nils Frahm‘s score for the short film Ellis–with spoken words by Robert De Niro. Discussing Erased Tapes Collection VIII, Raths explains:

“I simply want to tell a story, whether that’s by compiling this annual collection of songs that connects the dots between all these works of music we had the honour of releasing over the years, or curating a label in general. It helps me reminisce and revisit the moments that brought us all closer together, that make us human. With each year the picture becomes clearer and the message less reliant on words. I hope that this music helps the listener as much as it helps me to keep imagining, keep focusing, keep awake in a time when silence and peace is so hard to come by. May our new space provide a haven, reflecting these values we share and allowing people to find a moment to slow down in this fast-paced world we live in.”

You can view the track listing for Erased Tapes Collection VIII, below. In addition, the label reports that they’re opening the doors to their new East London home, Erased Tapes Sound Gallery. Beginning on Saturday, February 11th, the space will be open to the public on the weekends, and it will include a retail outlet and hang-out space where you can play on Nils Frahm’s custom piano. You can find Erased Tapes Sound Gallery at 174 Victoria Park Road, London E9.

Erased Tapes Compilation ‘Erased Tapes Collection VIII’

Various Artists-Erased Tapes Collection VIII (Erased Tapes)

Track Listing:

1. Allred & Broderick – “The Ways”
2. Penguin Cafe – “Cantorum”
3. Daniel Brandt – “Kale Me”
4. Rival Consoles – “Slow Song”
5. A Winged Victory For The Sullen – “Galerie”
6. Ben Lukas Boysen – “Golden Times 1”
7. Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm – “00:26” (Ryan Davis Rethink)
8. Douglas Dare – “Rex”
9. Immix Ensemble & Vessel – “Scope”
10. Woodkid & Nils Frahm – “Winter Morning II” (w/ Robert De Niro) [Excerpt]
11. Peter Broderick – “Eyes Closed While Traveling”